Pareve does NOT always equal dairy free

Pareve does NOT always equal dairy free

Postby bistina6 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:45 pm

I recently have been having some problems with products marked Pareve. As noted in the Casein-free diet quick start guide in the back of the magazine, it says "kosher non-dairy and pareve are free of dairy proteins." I was searching on the internet and came across some info that concerned and confused me from Kids with Allergies website and became concerned, "A dairy-allergic person cannot rely on the Kosher Pareve designation or the lack of a Kosher Dairy designation in determining the safety of a particular food. This is because it is possible for a food to contain a trace level of dairy contamination (something which might be a problem for a dairy-allergic child) and still be considered dairy-free from the standpoint of the Jewish dietary laws."
> bistina6
 
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:39 pm


cron